Home >> About >> Honors Program

Founder Jane Fortune at Nelli Awards with past awardees

AWA's Honors Program

Honoring the Contributions of Modern-Day Women in the Arts. Advancing Women Artists supports an on-going awards program honoring women museum directors in Florence, women restorers, patronesses of the arts and contemporary artists for their outstanding contributions to the culture of Florence. These awards, recommended by previous awardees, give recognition to deserving women in the arts who enhance the fabric of the community. Our Nelli Award takes its name from the first known woman painter in Florence, Plautilla Nelli. It periodically recognizes noteworthy contributions of the city’s 30+ women museum directors in Florence. The Outstanding Conservator Award honors a local woman restorer. The Anna Maria Luisa de’ Medici Award, named for the last Medici heiress, recognizes a patroness of the arts. The Simonetta Vespucci Award honors contemporary female Italian artists. Called "the unparalleled one", historians remember Simonetta Vespucci as one of the loveliest women of the Renaissance, the personification of Botticelli’s idea of ideal beauty. Have a look at our many deserving awardees here.

Maria Cristina Guidotti

2015 Nelli Awardee.

Donatella Mei

2012 Simonetta Vespucci Awardee.

Pina Ragionieri

2006 Nelli Awardee.

Anna Maria Luisa de’ Medici

2005 Posthumous Award Recipient.

Beatrice Paolozzi Strozzi

2012 Nelli Awardee.

Dr. Monica Bietti

2010 Nelli Awardee.

Maria Vittoria Rimbotti

2006 Anna Maria Luisa de’ Medici Awardee.

Magnolia Scudieri

2004 Nelli Awardee.

Simonetta Brandolini D’Adda

2012 Anna Maria Luisa de’ Medici Awardee

Rossella Lari

2010 Outstanding Conservator Awardee.

Angela Caputi

2006 Simonetta Vespucci Awardee.

Marchesa Alessandra Marchi Pandolfini

2004 Anna Maria Luisa de’ Medici Awardee.

Nicola Ann MacGregor

2012 Outstanding Conservator Awardee.

Franca Falletti

2007 Nelli Awardee.

Anna Maria Giusti

2005 Nelli Awardee.

Cristina Acidini

2003 Nelli Awardee.